How to Find Healing from Infidelity: Part II

In Part I of this series, we looked primarily at the path to healing: self-sacrifice and a spirit of love. It’s seems so contradictory to think we should love our enemies. We become a living sacrifice to God when we deny ourselves for a greater purpose and our love for God is the main test. When we look at the Biblical definition of love we discover that at its core, it’s selfless.  It’s easy to love those who do good to you, but much harder to love your enemies (Luke 6:32-36).

Today I would like to look at a more practical way to receive healing for your hurt.  When I look primarily at the New Testament examples of healing, they were often accompanied by the preaching of the Gospel (Matt 4:23, Matt 9:35, Luke 9:6). The truth of the Gospel was presented through preaching and then its power was exhibited through miraculous healing.

The principle I want to draw from this is that absorbing the truth found in God’s Word plays a critical role in your healing. You will constantly be at war with how the “world” says you should act and what God wants you to do. Keep God’s truth close to your heart and mind at all times because within it is the healing you are searching for.

My child, pay attention to what I say.
    Listen carefully to my words.
21 Don’t lose sight of them.
    Let them penetrate deep into your heart,
22 for they bring life to those who find them,
    and healing to their whole body.  Proverbs 4:20-22 NLT

In the Bible, where truth was presented healing often followed as a testament of God’s power and faithfulness. Is God capable of restoring and healing your broken marriage?  Absolutely! Even if your marriage is not healed, is God capable of healing your broken heart? Absolutely! You need to remind yourself of this truth daily even when circumstances seems dire and you are lacking in love. I’ve learned in my personal healing that when I wander too far away from my relationship with God, I’m more vulnerable to fears, mistrust, lies and hopelessness.  

Healing from InfidelityAs I have mentioned before, a practical way that I flooded my heart and mind with God’s truth is through worship music (Music Was Instrumental In My Healing).  There are so many great songs about God’s character, faithfulness, power, and ability to work miracles. Many nights I would lay awake and cry as I listened to songs about God’s greatness and love for me. It hurt and at the same time, it helped to heal me.

The world really has no ability to offer lasting hope for the hurts in the depths of your soul. The devastation of adultery cuts you much deeper than most other hurts. I would argue the pain remains more fresh than the death of a loved one. At least with death, there is finality. With betrayal and infidelity, the offender is still alive to help remind you every day of the hurt.

You need a miracle and God not only has the power to heal the hurt but also wants to use it for His glory. He wants to show the world, through you, that His power is real and His healing is truly a miracle. Let God’s truth penetrate your heart and bring the healing that you need.

If you are struggling with the devastation of adultery/infidelity in your marriage, please consider following our Facebook page Overcoming Adultery and joining our closed Facebook support group Christian Help for Adultery.

Leave a comment